St John's Redhill


Who are the Governing Body?

The Governing Body is made up of representatives from parents, staff, the Local Authority and the local community. The full Governing Body and two subcommittees meet each term. Regulations define the three keys roles of the Governing Body as:

  • setting the strategic direction
  • securing accountability
  • monitoring, evaluating, supporting and challenging

The Governing Body's overriding aim is to improve the quality of education and standards of achievement at St John's Primary School. We are involved with development planning; policy making; setting the school budget; monitoring and evaluating performance; setting realistic but challenging targets for pupil performance and ensuring accountability.

Governors regularly visit the school as part of our monitoring role in addition to attending school functions and assisting staff and children during school time in a variety of ways

Current Governing Body Members


Chair of Governors

Emma Lowther (Chair of FGB)
Appointed by Governors
(01/09/19 - 18/10/20)

Vice Chair of Governors

Emma Whittam (Child & Learning Lead)
(01/02/19 - 31/01/23) 


Staff Governors

Kate Sweeney
Appointed by Staff
(21/01/19 - 23/01/2023) 

Elizabeth Wombwell (Head Teacher)

Parent Governors

Abigail Priest
Appointed by Parents
(01/02/19 - 31/01/23)

Daphne Sherriff (Resources Lead)
Appointed by Parents
(01/02/19 - 31/01/23)

Co-Opted Governors

Nicola Brownjohn (Safeguarding Lead)
Appointed by Governors 
(01/09/18 - 31/08/22)

Caroline Lawson
Appointed by Governors
(28/03/19 - 27/07/23)

Natalie Quattrucci
Appointed by Governors
(04/02/16 - 03/02/20)


Fiona Crudgington

Please click the link below for the Governors Register of Interests

Register of Governor interest Sept 2019

Please click the link below for our Governor attendance for the last 12 months.

Governors Attendance at LGB meetings Nov18 - Nov19